Governing Body (RIG)

As Pondhu Primary School is an academy within the Cornwall Education Learning Trust (CELT) the local governing body would have formed a committee of the board of trustees.

To support and challenge the school to make rapid improvement the local governing body was replaced by a Rapid Improvement Group in 2022.  The Rapid Improvement Group (RIG) is constituted by the following members.

Name

Position

Contact information

Rachel Clift

Head teacher

rclift@pondhu.cornwall.sch.uk

Simon Disney-Pollard

Chair & Community Governor

spollard@carclazesch.org

Richard Baker

Trust Lead for School Improvement

rbaker@celtrust.org

Clare Ridehalgh

Deputy Trust Lead (Operations)

cridehalgh@celtrust.org

Kate Webber

Trust Lead for School Improvement- EYFS

kwebber@loswithielsch.org

Amy Daniels

Trust Lead for Safeguarding

adaniels@celtrust.org

Geoff Brown

Trustee

gbrown@gov.celtrust.org

Daphne Johns

Governor

djohns@gov.celtrust.org

Lucy Gambier

Governor

lgambier@penrice.org.uk

Ian Drake

Trust Health & Safety Officer

idrake@celtrust.org

The Trustees have a right to appoint such persons to serve on the RIG to hold the local senior leadership team to account for standards and safeguarding.  Through this, CELT ensures strong local governance of the school and retains a clear line of sight into the performance of the school within its community.

The Rapid Improvement Group has a range of responsibilities including:

  •        Supporting good governance of the school
  •        Safeguarding and promoting the Trust’s values
  •        Supporting the Headteacher and being a critical friend
  •        Monitoring achievement, quality of teaching, behaviour and safety
  •        Engaging with the school’s key stakeholders, for example, parents/carers, pupils and staff

The RIG meets regularly and provides the support and challenge to the school to make rapid improvements.  The RIG reports back to the board of trustees to ensure that all governance matters are addressed at a local level.

If you would like to contact the RIG please address correspondence to ccarter@gov.celtrust.org

 

Or via post at:

Claire Carter

Governance Officer

Cornwall Education Learning Trust

Atlantic Centre

Trenance Leisure Park

Newquay

Cornwall

TR7 2LZ

 

Further Governance information can be found on the CELT Governance Section – CELT website https://celtrust.org/

If you wish to make a complaint about the school or RIG, please contact complaints@celtrust.org